top of page

Silence is Golden. Or is it??

Travelling home from work Friday, there were 22 primary school age children, with 6 adults responsible for them in the carriage I got in. Giggles, chatter and, who I assumed were teachers, doing their best to keep them under control. It brought back memories of childhood. Mine and my childrens. I admire teachers so much and particularly when they take groups on field trips or holidays.

‘Please note that the carriage doors in this carriage will not open at Redruth due to short platform. If you need to alight at Redruth please move forward 2 carriages and make sure you don’t leave anything behind’.

It quickly became clear that the school party needed to get off at Redruth. ‘How are we going to move 22 children and 30 up two carriages?’. One of the adults asked a member of GWR staff, who reassured her they would help. Needless to say this was not going tom be easy and the adults started to work out best way to do it. The children were oblivious to the problem and were chatting and laughing along as normal. ‘I have 2 packs of sweets for the one who keeps silent the longest’ called out one of the teachers. You could have heard a pin drop.

Just to the side of me were a group of girls who were giving it their best shot. One of the group was pulling faces at another trying to make her laugh. I was amazed how all of them kept straight faces and didn’t say a word. I had to look away in case I inadvertently made one of them speak or laugh.

Then I found myself wanting to laugh. Memories of when I was a child and we had to be quiet. It was usually in school or Sunday school, but also at large family get togethers round huge table at my Great Grand Mothers house. Whenever it was silent I would always burst out laughing. I tried so hard not to, but more often than not I failed. Hated going into a library or church. So why is silence golden?? It was opposite to me. It was very unnerving.

One memory in particular has come back. Our family were at my Great Grand mothers to celebrate a significant birthday of hers. Extended family were there so lots of us sitting round table and in our Sunday best clothes. I Think I was wearing the scratchy dress that day. I am sure it looked lovely but it was made of wool and drove me mad. 😊

I digress. My brother was sitting next to me at the table and did or said something to make me laugh just as I took a sip of tea. That was it. I coughed and spluttered and tea came out my nose. So funny now when I think of it, but don’t recall it being funny at the time. Ooops.

What is it about silence that makes me giggle? I don’t expect anyone to answer that. I am sure I am not the only one though.

Back to the train. The children were silent for ages while the teachers worked out best way to move all the children. Once decided, one of them told the children the plan while another took a sweet to all the children as they all behaved very well. The teachers remained so calm and put their plan into action. All went very well and although the train was delayed a little as a result, I don’t think anyone seemed flustered or annoyed. GWR staff were really helpful and all in all, what could have been a very stressful and chaotic situation, I didn’t hear any raised voices.

Guess that is an example of silence being golden 😊

bottom of page