top of page

Counting My Blessings

The wind was howling and rain torrential in the night. I stirred a couple of times and felt thankful to be in a warm bed in a dry home. I been sleeping better than I have for many years lately and that too is a blessing. No need for me to be up and out early this morning so I made the most of a relaxed start. I smiled at the thought I have school runs to do again. Albeit only temporary. Gods sense of humour. Here am I, a person who does their best to ‘avoid’ Christmas, and a family in need cross my path, so I now have a young lad staying with me until the new year. Having him around is bringing back memories of when my children were little, and without the pain. Another blessing.

I headed off in my van with Cougs and Scarlet, to the yard. All wrapped up in my waterproofs and dosed up as have sore throat and bit feverish. Get out and see to the animals first and then come and shut myself away in the warm for the rest of the day seemed best idea. Lady and the herd really had the wind under their tails and were playing which was lovely to see. Watching animals in their natural environment is another blessing. Seeing the herd cantering around,, bucking and tossing their heads as they played was another blessing in my day. Off I headed to Godrivey where the beach was empty and tide part way out so Cougs Scarlet and I had great fun out in the elements. There is something so exhilarating in being out in the rain, and with waves crashing against the rocks, sea gulls ducking and diving as Cougs and Scarlet chased them, I looked up and thanked the Lord for so many blessings. But He hadn’t finished there. Just a few yards away, amongst the waves I spotted a seal popping his head up to watch us. Then another one. The rain stopped. I stood watching them…. Then looked at the lighthouse….back at the sea… up to the cliff top….. and said to myself. I am so blessed. Not so long ago I never thought I would see my life that way. I had lost sight of all the blessings for a while. But that is ok. For now I appreciate all the more, the many I have.

As I headed back to the van up the path between the rocks that lead to the top of the cliff, I felt discomfort in my knees and hips and thought how only a year ago, that climb was nothing and I had no pain at all. The walk for Ken has put lot more wear and tear on my joints, and it may take many years to complete the walk, but in so many other ways it has been healing, and I do not regret starting it at all. Maybe by the time I reach Poole in Dorset, I will have had a joint or two replaced? But that’s ok. Its also OK if I don’t make it to the end, but I really want. .It will happen if its meant to. In the meantime I will continue to count my blessings and be thankful for the children, Grand- children, family and friends God has blessed me with. Love to you all

bottom of page