top of page

What goes up must come down

Its interesting that we like to know how high something is, but not so interested in the depth. Oh, unless we are driving down a steep hill. I checked last night and have walked 144 miles and climbed 28,000 feet. Still down on what should be at this stage and last night was feeling fed up about it but a new day has dawned and I feeling much more positive again. Moods seem to be the opposite. I can recall times of being down far better than when up. I wonder why that is.

I have noticed more butterflies past few days so I guess all those caterpillars have gone through the metamorphosis now. I liken the process to my own journey. The caterpillar who didn’t get far, really even though had all those legs and determination. Then in the cocoon. I read somewhere that the caterpillar has to suffer in silence in the cocoon. That all consuming grief and no one could do or say anything. Just like a butterfly, if its forced out the cocoon too soon can die, I could have if had been pressured. Did you know that although it’s a radical transformation that takes place, the butterfly remembers what it learnt when it was a caterpillar? That’s just mind blowing. Although my mental health is not 100% again (if it ever was lol lol), this walk is most definitely transforming me and I pretty sure God doesn’t want me scrabbling me along rugged uneven paths anymore. Maybe I am not meant to soar like an eagle but gently fly like a butterfly?

Rest changed as needed to get pain management under control which I think has just about got to right level now, so tomorrow I am confident in completing next stretch. I am getting closer to home and therefore familiar area which has its advantages in knowing the terrain, but I will miss that feeling of seeing for the first time a new horizon.

Monday I should have diagnosis of knee problem, which will help as it may be simple exercises or slight change in way I walk downhill. I pray it will be something simple. Ever the optimist.

It was necessary to catch up communicating with people today which went better than expected. I do miss the ducks though. 😊

bottom of page