top of page

Tragedy or Triumph?

Each evening I log in to write blog I wonder where to start. I am receiving so many blessings day by day, in so many different ways. This evening I feel exhausted and my knee throbbing, but I really want to share with you while fresh in my mind.

After yesterdays ‘Famous Five’ or, as Trevor said, 4 girls in a band and he the manager on a promo tour. Lol.; today it was just two of us, but another exceptionally blessed day. As we walked and shared stories of our sons and families, Angela, having picked up from my blog that my eldest son was not my biological son, asked if I minded sharing more. (Sorry Angela but you did ask?! Lol). So I shared in brief, (as brief as can be about over40 years) about my life since I was 18. At one point I stopped and laughed and said ‘ Oh my goodness it sounds as though I have had a tragic life, but I haven’t’. We had a wonderful walk and chat and learnt more about each other and I was thinking about my life and how it sounds so sad. There was a while after Ken and my Dad went to be with the Lord that I just couldn’t tell myself ‘there is always someone worse off’, which is what I thought before Kens diagnosis. But today after sharing things with Angela I feel so incredibly blessed. I have 4 beautiful, amazing children, (one with the Lord now as you know), 6! Yes six grandchildren, My Mum is still with us, two precious sisters, one brother, I lost count of how many aunts, uncles and cousins, (cousins are special aren’t they? You see lot of them when growing up, then drift away for years and then back again with special bond only cousins can share), that is before I start with friends. As I mentioned in blog the other day, they can be like family. So although I have ‘diddly squat’ in material things, (Not quite diddly squat but hope you know what I mean) I am very rich in way that matters most to me. That’s not to say I don’t like nice things as I do. 😊

So tragedy or triumph came to me this evening, as so nearly my life did become a tragedy…I just didn’t want to be here anymore… but now I feel excited about what the day may bring. There is a song very special to me. After Ken went to be with the Lord, I would sing the first line over and over to try and convince myself of better times ahead. Now I can sing it from my heart and believe it. ‘The sun comes up, it’s a new day dawning, its time to sing your song again. Whatever lay past and whatever lies before me, let me be singing when the evening comes’. Ken loved singing. I love singing. The birds sing. So as my eyes are heavy and I need to finish this, my prayer for you all is that When the sun comes up and new day dawns may you have day that makes you want to still be singing in the evening. Night night all.

bottom of page