top of page

Caterpillars and Rugged Paths

The knee felt good this morning, so after a tasty full English breakfast, (without the mushrooms and beans), I left B&B in Combe Martin and started along the coastal path towards Widdecombe. I felt lighter in my spirit so looked forward to making good progress today. . The first mile or so was through beautiful woodland, with odd glimpse through the trees of Combe Martin cove. The sea was calm and few early morning paddleboarders and swimmers were making the most of the sun, after yesterdays drizzle.I found myself singing as I was walking. I was even smiling as I noticed the scent and colour of the wild flowers in the hedgerows. (Still a few bluebells hanging on in there). I was starting to see life in the world around me again. There was a time when I didn’t want ‘life to carry on’. Not that I felt suicidal. I just wanted time to stop. Now here I am noticing things in nature that I don’t think I have ever really paid a great deal of attention to. Caterpillars have lots of legs. All those muscles having to work so hard and the slightest change in the surface must take so much more effort. That’s how I used to be. Rushing around burning up energy and allowing the slightest change to distract me, then off I would go in another direction. I always seemed to take the toughest route. Had to giggle to myself earlier when this thought crossed my mind, as for some bizzare reason the song ‘You Take The High Road and I’ll take the Low road’ came into my head. Bit random. (Anyone remember a tv programme about a scottish village?).From the woodland the track emerged onto a tarmac path alongside a main road which initially disappointed me, then I thought that at least passing motorists would see my bright orange BCRT vest and back of T shirt with Text donation details on. There was an old wooden bus shelter further along which had few drawing pins so I pinned a few of the business cards to it, (trying not to put a pin through Kens photo). Another smile came as I remembered how vain he could be at times. He knew he was handsome. It wasn’t long before the path took me away from the main road again and started a descent towards a beautiful little marina. Just a small one tucked into another cove with lush green hills either side. I could see a small campsite and thought what a wonderful spot to stay sometime in the future. Realisation hit me again. I had thought of the future with optimism. And so the descent began….ouch. There goes the knee again. As I was making my way down the hill I found a few different ways to walk that eased the pain. Some of it I walked sideways, putting my poles down first. At other times I took tiny pigeon steps and now and then stretched my left leg as far as I could so bigger but less steps. Again I could see resemblance to my grief over the years. Who would have thought that each step I took, I would be learning more about myself and steps I have taken in my life? Amusing, but also bit sad, when I think what this caterpillar went through trying to push on forward instead of trying to find a way round, or, better still, an easier way to reach same destination or result. It’s a wonder my parents didn’t tear their hair out. (Sorry Mum and Dad). But I would not be who I am today, if I hadn’t walked those paths and met all the amazing people I have been blessed enough to have in my life. God never wastes one experience or meeting, and how clear that is becoming to me now. Back to my walk. The next few hours were arduous. It should only have taken me an hour to get to Ilfracombe from where I was but there were steep climbs up and over a few hills. I was starting to face the fact that making it to Woolacombe was unlikely in one day. As usual, I was talking to the Lord as I walked. ‘Show me your will Lord. Am I to find another way? I could take longer and just do less miles per day, especially over the more severe stretches. Or do you want me to absail down a cliff at the end of the walk to make up for any height that I don’t complete on the walk?’ The main thing is that I raise awareness and funds for BCRT and I am doing that, if only on a small scale at the moment. God is showing me just what transformations He has, and is, making in me. I am sensing this caterpillar has been in its cacoon for long enough and now starting to break out. I have had to type this off line so no idea when it will get uploaded as no internet where I am. I will try to upload daily but please be patient and do not worry if time goes by and I haven’t. I wrote this off line on 31st but have only just got internet connection. I have so much in my head and heart to share but will have to wait until after the walk. Heres a snippet for now.

bottom of page