top of page

The first time...

There are so many 'firsts' in life that stick in our minds, from first  best friend at school to moment our child took first step.

I  have always struggled to remember  'important '  things and sometimes wonder, why is it  I can  remember  our first home telephone number and even where the  small  square drain cover on path outside my  childhood home were, but not  facts and figures. The  important things. Lol.   Then today another  'first ' made it so clear.  It's the significance of something that makes it stick.   So simple  really.   Today I had another very significant first and I know I will always remember it.   In a basket outside a souvenier shop were, (very familiar to me),  little sellaphane  packets containing  walking stick  badges.   Ken had his own walking stick when a child and collected the badges which we then nailed onto it.  If you haven't fallen asleep by now  or stopped reading,   you probably wondering why I am making such a big thing about it?   The  significance is that  I smiled when I saw them.  No pain or  sadness. No sudden panic that having  smiled at a memory I must be  betraying  Ken.  A very significant  'first ' and  sign of healing.   It's a good feeling and I could almost  hear  Ken  sighing and  saying  'at last  mother '  :-)    I expected this walk to be part of healing  but  didn't expect to notice any  big shift  so soon.   Thank you  Lord.  :-)   Need to get to sleep now as hoping for better day walking tomorrow.   Today rained a lot which was a plus as I do love walking in the rain  but  my knee wasn't  Co operating so a good thing I had done extra miles first day.   But tomorrow is a new  day.  'The  sun comes up.  It's a new day  dawning. .'  :-)  night all. 

bottom of page