top of page

Counting my blessings

Today turned out very different to what I expected.  Woke up with knee very painful and  mist over the hills.   Old me would have set off regardless but I asked the  Lord in my prayers to show me  His way.   Walk to  Porlock  Weir so off  I set.  It was downhill through woodland and my knee most definitely most painful going down hill.  I  could either try to carry on  and risk being stuck in middle of nowhere plus dangers of walking in the mist,   or use wisdom and get to next destination then walk today's mileage on level ground.  I sat with a coffee thinking about what to do. That  was when a couple on next table asked about my walk.  What a huge blessing they were.  We were sharing life stories and next thing they offered me a lift to  Lynmouth so  that was answer to my quandary about today.  I  felt very blessed to have had time with them.   Once at  Lynmouth I was  smiling as I remembered being there 20 years ago with  Ken and his brothers  (Ciers  and  Stu )  plus my parents and  Kens dog,  Lychee.   How good it is to smile when I think of  Ken.   Then I set off from there inland to Watersmeet which was up and down but not too severe.  It occurred to me that had I have been forced to get help if I had made unwise decision,   the  focus on  BCRT  would have been lost and that would defeat the object of the walk.   God had it all planned though for as I was  making my way back to Lynmouth I met a lovely family.  The little boy asked me for a wristband which I was very happy to give him,  plus one for his  sister.   The few minutes chatting with them was another blessing.  Onward I went contemplating the walk and main objective.  I have few personal reasons,  but to raise awareness and funds for  BCRT  is most public reason.  Have I mentioned that every 10 minutes a child, teenager or young  adult is  diagnosed with it?   Doesn't make you think it's rare does it?   But it is  compared to other  cancers and it's very aggressive.   Where was I?   Oh yes,   contemplating the walk.   Needless to say  thoughts went through my mind of  'failing '  because today's mileage wasn't along the official coastal path,  but I quickly kicked that thought out.  I  am not deceiving anyone. I will always seek  God's guidance first. What did stand out today was that it's what's in my heart that matters and one way or another I will walk 630 miles and as much as is possible will be along the  coastal path. The miles I have walked are as should be and I making note of  ascending heights too as I aim to achieve that too  even if it means adding onto after scheduled finish.   I  have so much to be thankful for and  people I have met over past  48 hours are included.     Night all. Looking forward to what tomorrow will bring.   X. Oh I nearly forgot!   Little boy I met with his family  asked me if I am a  Jungle  Lady. That really made me smile.   Bless him. 

bottom of page