top of page

First day done

I  could write a book about first 24 hours as already quite a journey. Met some lovely people at breakfast then Homemade bread  sandwich and lemon cake and banana made by B&B hostess who goes  far beyond the extra mile for guests.  Then her husband gave me a lift to sea front. :-)  First mile or so was along seafront. .. calm sea and very quiet, then  grassy gradual incline which lead to forest and steep climbs. It was dark.  I started to see it was similar to grief.  The calm when I was numb,  then  gradually  I went into  dark  place that sometimes felt too awful. No energy or desire to get out into the light.  I  sat down just before I could see glimmers of sunlight through the trees.   As the day unfolded I could relate so much of it to my journey with grief.  So encouraging for I came out into the light and slowly but surely the sea mist cleared and most beautiful view's became more frequent.    I actually did few miles extra than planned today so be less needed tomorrow.    Good thing as my knee giving me some pain but only when descending.  One very steep part I had to walk down sideways but again lessons learnt.   What I  feel good about is that  

I am not under any pressure.  It's to be enjoyable and no longer do  I feel  I have to carry on regardless.  I have nothing to prove to anyone or myself.   I know  God loves me and so do many others,   just the way I am.   I  know it may sound crazy to some of you,  but I am talking to  God a lot while I walk and  He  showing me things about myself that I  wouldn't have listened to before.    I remember my  Mum  telling me once  that when I was a child  she would always know if I had done  something naughty because I would put myself to bed.  I would punish myself. Today I realised I have lived much of my life  'punishing ' myself.  I have changed a great deal  thanks to  God's grace and patience with me.    A great example today was  at a fork  in the path where could take  the  rugged path or the official path.   There was a time when I would have taken the rugged way.   I had to do things the hard way.   Not anymore.  Don't get any medals for trying to prove myself to others  or  to  myself.   Makes for much more enjoyable  'walk '  .  Have blessed evening everyone and thanks for reading.   

bottom of page